August 2016 Wrap Up

August was a much better month for me when it comes to reading and blogging. I made a bit of progress on the book challenges I’m participating in, but not as much as I would like. Here is my list for August.

Books I’ve read this Month:

My Favorite reads:

  • One Foot in Eden by Ron Rash is amazing. It’s beautifully written and the story is engaging. If you haven’t read it, do! As soon as possible!
  • Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith [AKA J.K. Rowling] is just a wonderfully plotted story. I started reading it as an eBook borrowed from the library, but became so engaged I also borrowed the audio book version to listen to while I worked in my garden and did housework.

Books I Acquired:

  • Asking for Trouble by Elizabeth Young (paperback)
  • The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez (audio book)
  • Bone Gap by Laura Ruby (audio book)
  • One Foot in Eden by Ron Rash (paperback)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne (hardback)
  • The Bollywood Bride by Sonali Dev (eBook)

Books in Progress:

  • The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford (eBook from the library)
  • My Brilliant Friend by Elena Farrante (paperback)
  • S. by J.J. Abrams, Doug Dorst (hardback)

Books I DNF (did not finish):

  • In Bed With the Devil by Lorraine Heath (eBook from the library) This one didn’t catch my attention.

Reading in September:

Most of the books I’m planning to read are #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks and two are for the 2016 Read Harder Challenge. Now, I’ll probably won’t achieve this goal, but that’s okay.

  • The Bollywood Bride by Sonali Dev (eBook)
  • Bird Box by Josh Malerman
  • The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
  • On Beauty by Zadie Smith
  • I Am America (And So Can You) by Stephen Colbert (2016 Read Harder Challenge)
  • Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff (2016 Read Harder Challenge)

Here is some of my favorite reads across the blogisphere and the web.

Bloggers:

Both of these posts have nothing to do with books or reading.

  • CoffeeandaBlankpage writes a letter to a man who approached her on the street.
  • TheThrifty Gourmond writes about buying less than pretty vegetables. I really like this since my garden produce is not as perfect as the stuff at the grocery store.

Links from Across the Web:

  • Jessica Gross’s Things We Like website. This is website is lists that Jessica Gross collects and presents on this page. It’s really fascinating, and I enjoy reading them.
  • Hiking stories can be found at this link. I love the idea of hiking different long trails, but i don’t think I ever will do it. So, I do the next best thing I watch videos on You Tube and read essays about hiking.

 

How was your August reading? Did you meet all your goals? What are your plans for September? Let me know what you think of my plans in the comments. Happy Reading!

 

15 thoughts on “August 2016 Wrap Up

  1. Love, love, love the Ron Rash. Years ago, I was in a book club in which the members rotated selecting a book for the group, which met once a month. One Foot in Eden was my selection one month. I own The Sharper the Knife. Started it several years ago, and put it down, probably because something else grabbed my attention. I may go back to it. I need to do my own #readyourowndamnbooks challenge. Seriously. But then there’s the #readyourstudentessays issue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. #readyourstudentessays takes up all of your time, I know! One Foot in Eden is so beautifully written and the story is so well done. This is my first Ron Rash, believe it or not. He wasn’t on the NC Lit syllabus when I took the class years ago. The Sharper the Knife is best in the sections where she focuses on the Cordon Bleu. The trials of finding an apartment near the school and the problems of the boyfriend who takes a year off from work (he can afford to because he’s a tech millionaire) is a bit more “eye-roley” for me.

      Like

  2. I did better this month too. I wanted to read 50% my own books and … I came pretty close 🙂 Your September reading list looks awesome. I loved Zadie Smith’s White Teeth, and On Beauty has been on my reading list for ages. Thank you for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have had a good August, given it is high summer and so much is going on during this month – not to mention the Olympics! Your September reading list looks great – I have never read White Teeth, but think that I should do, so I’ll be very interested to see how you get on. Have a great reading month:).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Truly, the Olympics did cut into my reading. I love watching the Games. Plus we had people staying with us almost every weekend in August. I spent a lot of time washing sheets and making beds. I began to feel as if someone had opened a bed and breakfast in my house when I wasn’t looking (perhaps I was reading?). I’m so glad that August is at an end.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It makes it hard work, doesn’t it? Do you get much good weather once you hit September, or does the temperature rapidly cool? I’m keeping my fingers crossed for an Indian summer…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It can be glorious with berries on the trees and still very warm with a beautiful golden tint to the sunshine. It also can be cold, wet and windy… We get a LOT of weather and it’s increasingly unpredictable.

        Like

  4. Great reading month for you! I have The Book of Unknown Americans on my audio tbr and yay for Zadie Smith! Hard great things about BirdBox, perfect for creepy season. I think my August went well though I never get all the books read, need to set smaller goals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment