Friday 56, #49

It’s time for  Friday 56!  It’s a book meme hosted by Freda at Freda’s Voice. Be sure to visit her blog if you would like to participate.

From Freda’s Voice The Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader  (If you have to improvise, that’s okay.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post in the Linky at Friday 56. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple!

Here is my contribution:

Witches and witchcraft in Salem, Massachusetts! Is there any more appropriate story to read in October? I think not. Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to include your link to Friday 56.

Happy reading, y’all!

Advertisements

Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon October 2017

april2017It’s that time of year again. It’s Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon time! A full 24 hour period to devote to just reading! The readathon is this weekend, October21st and 22nd. Most exciting is that it’s the 10th anniversary of this readathon. Click here to read more about the story of this readathon. This is my fourth readathon.You can read about previous readathons here, here, and here.

As I write this I’m busy collecting the books I want to read during the event. I’m not focusing on a theme, although I’m am planning on reading some Ray Bradbury books that are October and Halloween related. Click here if you would like to see my Dewey’s Readathon bookshelf on Goodreads. Another thing I’m focusing on is reading shorter in length books because one thing I have learned is not to read “doorstoppers” during a readathon. I read a 500+ page book during my first readathon which made me feel as if I made no progress at all. While I know that its not a competition, I did get discouraged since I didn’t quite finish two books for that first readathon. So for the next one I read more 200 pages and under books which made me feel like I accomplished my goals as I finished each book. Now I focus more on page count and not worry about the number of books I read. I’m setting the goal of reading 1,500 pages.  And since I get a little stir crazy sitting in the same spot for hours on end, I will also have some audio books ready to go so I can get out and enjoy the lovely fall weather this weekend.

A new treat I have also planned for the readathon: spa day! I’m gonna spend some time with stuff slathered on my feet, hands, and face. This is a perfect time to use a deep moisturizer on my poor, dry, feet and heels. And fuzzy socks to keep my feet warm while I have them propped on a stool. On my hands more balms and lotions with my hands in cotton gloves to keep the book pages clean. And on my face some eye masks and face masks to treat my skin. And I’ll put a pitcher of water with cucumbers or oranges floating nearby. It will be lovely.

Another important part of this readathon is social media.  I plan on sticking to Twitter for most of my updates with three or four more detailed updates on my blog. You can find me here on Twitter. I am also planning on visiting Goodreads Dewey’s Readathon group and participation in the reading sprints which are held there. I will participate in as many mini-challenges as I can and cheer all my fellow readathoners on as possible. It’s such fun to know that so many other people all around the world are participating and cheering each other on. It’s one of the many really cool things about this readathon; we do it together.

Finally, food and drink is also much discussed and planned for the readathon. Since I’m going with a spa day theme, I”ll have pitchers of water to keep hydrated. Later on I’ll drink hot tea and cider and treat myself to some pumpkin cookies to keep my energy up. And perhaps the treat that I’m most looking forward to is the late afternoon/early evening large latte or flat white Himself will go and get for me. I don’t drink coffee after 4 pm because the caffeine keeps me awake all night. So this late in the day coffee is a special treat.

Of course, all of my plans for the readathon may change the day of. But one thing is for certain and it’s that I will be readathoning on Saturday. Will you? Let me know in the comments below if you are participating in this readathon. And leave the links to your social media or blog so we can cheer each other on. Happy readathon weekend, y’all!

Friday 56, #48

It’s time for  Friday 56!  It’s a book meme hosted by Freda at Freda’s Voice. Be sure to visit her blog if you would like to participate.

From Freda’s Voice The Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader  (If you have to improvise, that’s okay.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post in the Linky at Friday 56. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple!

Here’s my contribution:

This has been on my TBR for a while now. I want to read since it seems to be about a fictional serial killer story. And do love a serial killer story, both fiction and nonfiction. Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to include your link to Friday 56.

Happy reading, y’all!

Friday 56, #47

It’s time for  Friday 56!  It’s a book meme hosted by Freda at Freda’s Voice. Be sure to visit her blog if you would like to participate.

From Freda’s Voice The Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader  (If you have to improvise, that’s okay.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post in the Linky at Friday 56. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple!

Here’s my contribution:

It’s October and for me that means it’s time to read creepy, scary stories and books. And Sarah Waters’ The Little Stranger is a very creepy, unsettling tale to read on a dark night. It’s perfect for fans of The Turn of the Screw.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to include your link to Friday 56.

Happy reading and October, y’all!

September 2017 Wrap-Up

September Stats:

Total Books Read: 13

Number of pages: 4,673

Written by Men: 0

Written by Women: 13

Diverse Authors: 0

Nonfiction: 0

Fiction: 13

Paperback: 0

Hardback: 0

eBooks/Kindle: 13

Library books: 10

Audio books: 0

Rereads: 0

DNF: 0

My Favorite Book this month:

Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor. I love this book and am so looking forward to the next book in the series!

Challenges to date:

GoodReads:  90/75

BookRiot Read Harder 2017: 1

#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks: 0

Across the Web:

In the fall I love to read, watch, and listen to creepy stories. One of my favorite creepy stories is about Robert the Doll in Key West, Florida. You can hear a version of this story at the web page for the podcast Lore.

The end of August marks the 20th anniversary of Diana, Princess of Wales’s death. And there are “think pieces” about her legacy. Hilary Mantel has written two interesting pieces about being royal here and here.

Friday 56, #46

It’s time for  Friday 56!  It’s a book meme hosted by Freda at Freda’s Voice. Be sure to visit her blog if you would like to participate.

From Freda’s Voice The Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader  (If you have to improvise, that’s okay.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post in the Linky at Friday 56. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple!

Here’s my contribution:

Oh, how I love a true story about a serial killer. I have read so many true crime books about everyone from Jack the Ripper to Ted Bundy. So, of course, this nonfiction story about a serial killer I was unaware of is on my wish list TBR. So I was very happy to find this book on the sale table at Barnes and Noble. #book haul

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to include your link to Friday 56.

Happy reading, y’all!

Friday 56, #45

It’s time for  Friday 56!  It’s a book meme hosted by Freda at Freda’s Voice. Be sure to visit her blog if you would like to participate.

From Freda’s Voice The Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader  (If you have to improvise, that’s okay.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post in the Linky at Friday 56. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple!

Here’s my contribution:

I’ve had this book on my wish list for a long while. But I have to say I’ve been a bit nervous to read it. What if I discover that I’m a sociopath? Anyway. I bought this book at Barnes and Noble on sale. And have wanted to buy it because I have a murder mystery floating in my brain and this book might be helpful if I ever get around to writing it.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Did you discover sociopaths in your life after reading it? Let me know what you think in the comments below. And don’t forget to include a link to your Friday 56 post.

Happy reading, y’all!