September Wrap-Up & October Plans

September was another slow month for reading and blogging. Now that summer is over I’m planning on refocusing on both reading and blogging! The cooler weather will help me focus, I hope! Lots of tea, blankets, and early evenings just makes me want to read!

Books I Acquired this month:

The Story of a New Name by Elena Ferrante.

The Past by Tess Hadley

The Witches by Stacy Schiff

Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Brown

Way to Rainy Mountain by M. Scott Momaday

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Still Life by Louise Penny {Library eBook}

Books I read in September:

The Bollywood Bride  by Sonali Dev {Kindle}

Way to Rainy Mountain by M. Scott Momaday {Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, Task 4}

The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford {Library eBook}

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. {#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks}

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I Am America (And So Can You!) by Stephen Colbert {Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, Task 21}

Favorite Read:

 

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante . This is such a good book.

 

 

 

Stuff from across the Web:

Framed: She was the PTA mom everyone knew. Who would want to harm her?

This is a long, but fascinating investigative report in the LA Times. If you have a few minutes READ IT!

Reading plans for October:

The three that I’m planning to read are The Witches by Stacy Schiff, The Bird Box by Josh Malerman, and The Story of a New Name by Elena Ferrante. All of these are for my own pleasure reading. Not that everything I read isn’t for my own pleasure! But I also am participating in a reading challenge or two. So I will read at least two books that will count towards the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2016 (not sure which books I will read). And The Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon is coming up this month so I’m putting together the list of books I’ll read during that event. Since it is October the stack will have some creepy and scary reads. I’m pretty sure The Halloween Tree and Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury will be in the pile.

 

So how was your September? What are your reading plans during October? Let me know in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up & October Plans

  1. Excellent wrap-up! My favorite read in September was Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis-Benn and The Last Days of Night by Graham Moore. I noticed you read The Bollywood Bride by Sonali Dev; I’m hoping to read that soon as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by the blog. I liked The Bollywood Bride quite a lot. And I’m looking forword to reading Sonali Dev’s latest book which focuses on a minor character of the Bollywood Bride.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve read a good spread of books, Loreen. ‘My Brilliant Friend’ sounds like a beautiful, uplifting read on the nature of female friendship. I hope you enjoy October’s planned reading and look forward to being scared. I tend to avoid horror as I’m such a wuss – I tend to suffer from nightmares so I monitor what I read and watch quite carefully. Have a great month:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure Ferrante’s novels are uplifting? But so far it’s explored how women’s friendships are complicated, even in childhood and adolescence. I am so looking forward to starting the next book in the series!
      I love reading scary books in the fall. For me waking up from nightmares after reading a terrifying story is a part of the experience. I’m odd, I know! Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

