Top Ten Tuesday, August 9th. #2

It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday. It’s hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Do visit this fun blog and read all the other lists.This week is Top Ten Tuesday REWIND — go back and do a topic you missed over the years or recently or a topic you really want to revisit. I’m revisiting a recent Top Ten Tuesday:  Ten Books Set Outside The US. My list is a bit Great Britain heavy. And I picked  books that I’ve read recently (Last 5 years-ish).

Top Ten Books Set Outside The US:

The Harry Potter Series (Great Britain) I just listed the series since alone it would take up the entire list.

3

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware (Great Britain)

In a Dark, Dark Wood

In the Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Lucia Graves (Translator) (Spain)

The Shadow of the Wind (The Cemetery of Forgotten Books,  #1)

The Tiger’s Wife by Téa Obreht (The Balkans)

The Tiger's Wife

City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte (Prague)

City of Dark Magic (City of Dark Magic, #1)

The Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Arnim (Italy)

The Enchanted April

Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters (Great Britain)

Tipping the Velvet

The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan (France)

The Painted Girls

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho (Great Britain)

Sorcerer to the Crown (Sorcerer Royal, #1)

Crazy Rich Asians & China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan (China/Hong Kong) I listed both of these because both are crazy fun reads.

Crazy Rich Asians China Rich Girlfriend (Crazy Rich Asians #2)

 

What are some of your favorite books set outside of the USA? Have you read any of the books on my list? What did you do for Top Ten Tuesday this week? Let me know in the comments below!

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday, August 9th. #2

  1. How did you like City of Dark Magic? I’m remember being intrigued because I love Prague, but I don’t remember much other than that when I first came across it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lovely selection of book, Loreen:) I have to confess to only having read the Harry Potter series – but Sorcerer to the Crown and City of Dark Magic are on my To Get list. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a wonderful list. I loved The Shadow of the Wind and also a huge fan of Sarah Waters’ writing. Nice variety of settings, I’ll have to check some of these out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crazy Rich Asians is such a good, light, fluffy summer read. It’s a story about crazy rich people in Hong Kong which is a place I haven’t read a lot about.

      Like

  4. I love this topic and what an intriguing list of books. In a Dark, Dark Wood and In the Shadow of the Wind have been on my radar for a while – nice to be reminded of them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment