Dewey’s 24 Hour ReadAThon, April 29, 2017 Updates

The Next Day (and about 6 hours of sleep later):

Closing Survey!
1. Which hour was most daunting for you? As always, between Hour 21 and 24 kick my butt, which is about 3 am and 6 am for me. I gave up at Hour 22:30 and went to bed.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a reader engaged for next year? I would suggest Harry Potter. Mini rereads of HP are always good. And maybe go for the light reads late in the readathon. Having to concentrate too much towards the end is not a good idea, at least for me! 
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? Nope.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I think, for me, Litsy, Twitter, and Instagram as a place to visit and like/cheer worked best for me. 
5. How many books did you read? 3 and 1/4!
6. What were the names of the books you read? HP & The Chamber of Secrets, Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell, Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and Place by Terry Tempest Williams, and HP & The Prisoner of Azkahban. 
7. Which book did you enjoy most? Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and Place by Terry Tempest Williams. It’s just a gorgeous, heartbreaking, read.
8. Which did you enjoy least? Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell. It’s a collection of short stories. I really liked tow or three of the stories, but the rest?  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I already put the date for the next one in my calendar. And I would like to do more. Maybe host an hour or something? 

I will include a wrap of the readthon in my April Reading Wrap-up tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

 

Hour 12 (6 pm MDT):

Mid-Event Survey!
1. What are you reading right now? Vampires in the Lemon Grove by Karen Russell
2. How many books have you read so far? 2
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? Not sure? Maybe HP & the Prisoner of Azkahban.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I just roll with it. This should be a goodtime not something else to get stressed about.
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? Nothing? But the night is young.

Hour 9 (3 pm MDT): Well, I’m a bit later at posting here than I expected. But, ya know, lost in a good book or two! As of now, I’m finished with my first book of the day HP & the Chamber of Secrets.Reading HP is a always a good way to get into a readathon, I think. And I’m looking forward to reading HP & The Prisoner of Azkaban later on this evening. 

Here are my stats so far:

Books read: 1 1/2

Pages read: 454

Hour 0 (6 am MDT): Starting with a big cuppa joe and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I’ll post on Instagram and check Litsy and Twitter for mini challenges, etc. What a great day to read, y’all!

11 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour ReadAThon, April 29, 2017 Updates

Leave a Reply

