Friday 56, #31

It’s time for  Friday 56!  It’s a book meme hosted by Freda at Freda’s Voice. Be sure to visit her blog if you would like to participate!

From Freda’s Voice The Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post in the Linky on Friday 56. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple!

Here is my contribution: Villettte by Charlotte Brontë

This at around 56% on my Kindle. I quite like the description. But I really have no clue what is going on. I’ve not yet read Villette. It’s been on my Kindle for about 5 years!. And I decided to go with this book for my Friday 56 because today is Charlotte Brontë’s 201st birthday. She was born on this day in 1816.

Are you a fan of Charlotte Brontë? What do you think of this excerpt? If you haven’t read this book, would you? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to leave a link to your Friday 56 so I can visit your blog. Happy Friday, y’all!

20 thoughts on “Friday 56, #31

  1. It’s surprising to answer this one as if I haven’t read it. I read it years ago when I was a teenager and then in my early 30s, when my take on it was completely different. I was shaken at just what a grim time Lucy was having, given it is apparently very much based upon Charlotte’s own experiences. And yes – I highly recommend this one, readable and hard-hitting.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I have not read it, but since I have a free copy on my kindle I will get to it. And it seems that the Bronte Sisters had the worst luck with being governesses. And with love.

      Like

Leave a Reply

