November Wrap-Up

November is finally over. For so many reasons this month has lasted forever. I think it’s due to the closeness of the end of the year. And because I want this truly awful year to be over. My reading life has suffered a bit as well. Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life premiered on Netflix  over Thanksgiving weekend, so I spent much of the time I usually spend reading instead watching Gilmore Girls episodes and reading Gilmore Girls think pieces across the web to prepare for the new episodes. Someday I may write about my love of this particular show, but today is not that day. Today, I present my reading life for the past month.

Read:

Left-Hand of Darkness by Ursula LeGuin*^

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie*

Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff*^

Small Wonder by Barbara Kingsolver* ^

His Wicked Reputation by Madeline Hunter  [Library eBook]

The End of Everything by Megan Abbott  [Library eBook]

* Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2016 book

^ #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks Challenge book

Favorite Read in November: 

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie*

Started Reading (but didn’t finish) :

Good Morning, Midnight by Jean Rhys*^

Ghostland: An American History in Haunted Places by Colin Dickey [Library eBook]

Quarterly Book Box:

This is a literature box that I subscribe to and so receive a box quarterly. I should have received this box in mid October, but they forgot to send me my box. This is the second time this has happened. Interestingly, they don’t forget to charge my credit card. In addition to the three books listed below, the box included a coffee cup with a quotation from The Mothers  and a sticker. Is it worth the price of the subscription? I’m not sure that it is, so I will write about my thoughts sometime in January.

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The Mothers by Brit Bennett

Sula by Toni Morrison

Books to Read in December:

Most of this list includes books I am reading for the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2016. I only have three books to read to finish it this year, so I’m put them on the top of my list. And  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is the pick for my Skype book club.

Good Morning, Midnight by Jean Rhys

Half-Resurrection Blues by Daniel José Older

Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

Across the Web:

I love Harry Potter and that world so much. I love it so much that I love to read analysis of the Harry Potter world. In light of the recent US election, a lot of writers are seeing similarities to HP and the world today. Here is a really nice analysis of one of the worst villains of the series:  Dolores Umbridge.

This article is a holdover from my interest in female driven thrillers like Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. Why are there so many? FYI, Paula Hawkins’, author of The Girl on the Train,  next book has been announced. Click here to read. 

So how was your November? Did you read as much as you wanted to? Did Gilmore Girls interrupt your life as it did mine? Let me know in the comments below and leave a link to your wrap up. Happy Reading in December!

25 thoughts on “November Wrap-Up

  1. I understand your mixed feeling regarding November – can’t say I’m all that impressed with 2016, either… Having said that, you still managed to complete 2 books a week, which isn’t shabby. I hope that December is a better month for you, though it generally isn’t one when I get much in the way of reading and writing done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My November was decidedly slow on the reading (and posting) side. I blame Thanksgiving and yes, Gilmore Girls! I was totally consumed for two days when I could have been reading. But i enjoyed it very much. This time of year is always slower for my reading anyway, since there’s a lot of holiday preperation and activities. By the way, I think two books a week is terrific!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks. I really enjoyed immersing myself in Stars Hollow this past month. I might have to start all over again in January. I have only 3 books to read for a challenge to read in December, and that’s about the extent of my goals for December!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 2016 hasn’t been my favorite year, either. I have read some great books, though, and from your list, I see more to enjoy in the future. I have a copy of The Mothers…and hope to get to it soon. I am also intrigued by We Should All Be Feminists.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope to get to The Mothers really soon. And We Should All Be Feminists is really, super quick read. It only took me about 20 minutes to read. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  4. I’ve been binge watching the original Gilmore Girls, I watched one episode of the revival but I’ll need to watch it again after I’m finished with the original. I read two and a half books in November. I finished Pride and Prejudice yesterday, but started it in November. Had the Gilmore Girls not taken over my life, I would have finish Pride and Prejudice in November.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have only watched the first two episodes of the Gilmore Girls revival. It is definitely my favorite show ever. I have mixed feeling about the revival so far though, I guess I’ll wait till the end to pass judgment though.

    How does a subscription box forget you for two months?! I can understand once, but twice? They obviously need to get it together…

    We all should be Feminists is in my TBR and sitting on my shelf as we speak!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, I love Gilmore Girls so much. I, too, have thoughts on the revival!
      I’m just not too thrilled with the book box subscription. I think after this latest bungle on their part I’ll soon cancel it.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I want to join a book subscription box, but I feel I would be too dissatisfied with what comes. I watte hched the GG reboot the day after Thanksgiving. I was disinterested in the musical and thought it was a waste of time, as well as some other things, like who Rory was visiting. I never got on board with that. I also wanted to see more of the original show favorites, like Sookie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

