Quickie Book Reviews

Looking back over September I realized that I wrote absolutely no book reviews. And one of my goals for September was to write at least one book review per week. So. Here it is the second week of October and I’ve yet to write a review. The last two book i read are both older books that everyone has all read y read, so I thought rather than write a review for each, why not just do a quickie review? So that is what I am doing today.

I Am America (And So Can You!)First up is I am America (And So Can You!) by Stephen Colbert, et al. I am a fan of The Colbert Report. I watched it almost every night. I enjoyed his brand of satire and how effectively he inhabited the character Stephen Colbert inhabited on the show. But. Reading it is much different than watching it. The book is like an extended version of his The Word bit. The intrusions of marginalia gets too much. Almost every paragraph has an aside. And it’s tiring. Another is issue for me is that it’s an election year. Probably the most awful election year in the history of world. And anything political is just too much to take for me right now. In another year this book might have been more of pleasure to read.

The Girl on the TrainNext The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. This book is marketed towards fans of Gone Girl, so it’s hard to not compare it to the other novel. And the comparisons between the two are fair. Both have thoroughly unlikable characters. In fact, it’s hard to find anyone in either novel who is even sympathetic. But I’ve been thinking about it for a few days, and I have to say I enjoy and like Gone Girl more than The Girl on the Train (TGOTT ). Both are twisty, twirly thrillers that feature awful, awful women, but I think the twist in TGOTT  is less shocking than you would expect. And Rachel, the protagonist, for me, is in a constant state of pathetic that never changes. And some of the twisty surprises seem even more convoluted than the needed to be, if that makes any sense. (I’m really trying to avoid spoilers here!) And that is something that I found in Gone Girl as well. The twists are there just to be a twist and aren’t as organic to the story as the could (should?) be. But, right now, female driven twisty thrillers are popular, so……there will be more of these novels. Will I read them? Probably. Because I do enjoy twists! (I’m reading Tana French’s twisty latest and I’m planning to write a proper review of it next week.)

So what do you think of the two books I reviewed? Have you read them? Do you agree or disagree with my reviews? Let me know in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Quickie Book Reviews

  1. This is a really interesting take on Girl on the Train and Gone Girl. I did find Gone Girl more compelling and the twists more intense (I stayed up until 3 am reading it to get to the end). The super twisted ending gave me the creeps whereas Girl on the Train had something closer to redemption. I’m with you about the protagonist: She was more pathetic, whereas Amy from Gone Girl was just mental and/or evil.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

