Top Ten Tuesday, #1

It’s been a couple of days since my last post, so I thought I would participate in the Top Ten Tuesday meme! It’s hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Do visit this fun blog and read all the other lists. This week’s focus is Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads. If you would like more information on this list, click on the link.

My list of books on Goodreads that have fewer than 2000 ratings have a lot in common. Most of them are non-fiction books. And I do read a lot of non-fiction. Only two on my list are fiction. I chose focus on books I’ve read within the last ten years. And the list is in no particular order. All of the covers are from Goodreads.

American Ghost: A Family's Extraordinary History on the Desert Frontier

American Ghost: A Family’s Extraordinary History on the Desert Frontier by Hannah Nordhaus. It has, as of today, 1,565 ratings. I’ve posted about this book a lot in the blog and I’ve also reviewed it here as well. I gave it a four star rating.

The Art of Imperfection: Simple Ways to Make Peace with YourselfThe Art of Imperfection: Simple Ways to Make Peace with Yourself by Veronique Vienne. It has, as of today,122 ratings. This is a lovely little book that includes a bunch of pretty pictures. It encourages the reader to be kind to herself. Some reviews on Goodreads dismiss it as new age garbage, but I found it very helpful. I re-read it this year for the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge.

Bitch In a Bonnet: Reclaiming Jane Austen From the Stiffs, the Snobs, the Simps and the Saps, Volume 1Bitch In a Bonnet: Reclaiming Jane Austen From the Stiffs, the Snobs, the Simps and the Saps, Volume 1 by Robert Rodi. It has, as of today, 230 ratings. I am a huge Jane Austen fan and I love reading literary theory (Yes, I have a masters in English.) So this book is right up my alley! And this is an irreverent analysis of Jane Austen’s novels. It’s not written in academic prose, but is very accessible to most readers.  And it’s so good. After reading this book you will never read those novels the same way again.

Scandals of Classic Hollywood: Sex, Deviance, and Drama from the Golden Age of American CinemaScandals of Classic Hollywood: Sex, Deviance, and Drama from the Golden Age of American Cinema by Anne Helen Petersen. It has, as of today, 1,112 ratings. All of the scandals and stories about Charlie Sheen, Brad and Angelina, and even Woody Allen are nothing new. This kind of thing has been going on in Hollywood since the beginning. And it’s fascinating stuff.If you are interested in stories about Fatty Arbuckle, Dick and Liz, and Clara Bow, this book is for you.

The Creation of Anne Boleyn: A New Look at England's Most Notorious QueenThe Creation of Anne Boleyn: A New Look at England’s Most Notorious Queen by Susan Bordo.  It has, as of today, 1,741 ratings. Another subject that fascinates me is Tudor England and Anne Boleyn. Who was she and why was she executed? We know so little about her. There is very little documentation about her out there. Bardo explains in this book how she is viewed at different times in history. If you are fascinated by Anne Boleyn you should read this.

Flower Confidential: The Good, the Bad, and the BeautifulFlower Confidential: The Good, the Bad, and the Beautiful in the Business of Flowers by Amy Stewart. It has, as of today, 916 ratings. I often buy flowers at the grocery store, but I’ve never really thought about where they are grown and how the get to my grocery store. And this book goes into great detail about the floral industry. And it is so interesting. And I know that might surprise some. but it’s true!

Beyond Heaving Bosoms: The Smart Bitches' Guide to Romance NovelsBeyond Heaving Bosoms: The Smart Bitches’ Guide to Romance Novels by Sarah Wendell & Candy Tan. It has, as of today, 1,114 ratings. I love romance novels. Love them. These books are my comfort reads when I need a pick up. And, as an English major, I also know that romance novels are not held in high esteem by many. But these novels are incredibly popular with women. And this is a humorous analysis of the genre in general. The writers run a fabulous web site called Smart Bitches, Trashy Books. This book is great fun for romance readers.

Witchcraze: A New History of the European Witch HuntsWitchcraze: A New History of the European Witch Hunts by Anne Llewellyn Barstow. It has, as of today, 318 ratings. This is a great book if you are interested in the history of women and witchcraft. I first read this for an anthropology class many years ago and it’s so interesting. The numbers of women executed as witches in Europe is mind-blowing. 

Untold StoryUntold Story by Monica Ali. It has, as of today, 1,814 ratings. This is fiction! This is an interesting story. It answers the question What would Diana, Princess of Wales do if she did indeed fake her death? And this story tries to answer this question. If you are a fan of Diana, this book maybe something you would like to read.

Final Vinyl DaysFinal Vinyl Days and Other Stories by Jill McCorkle. It has, as of today, 212 ratings. This is a lovely collection of short stories about life in small Southern towns. And she has a wicked sense of humor that makes  reading of her stories so enjoyable.

 

Have you read any on my list? Would you? Be sure to let me know in the comments.

 


 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday, #1

  1. This is a really interesting list – the one that caught my eye was Witchcraze and yes… during my Feminist History module I do recall that the number of women burned right across Europe for being witches was truly shocking, especially given that at the height of the paranoia, it only took a couple of grumpy neighbours to start a whispering campaign – and it never ended well for the victim. The other horrible ending, as I recall, was being slowly crushed to death by having stones piled on her body, taking up to 3 days to die of internal injuries and asphyxiation. Thank goodness I wasn’t alive then! Thank you for sharing your list of books:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All of these books look really interesting, thanks for the list! The Creation of Anne Boleyn looks especially intriguing – I’ve been fascinated by the Tudors ever since I read The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read Final Vinyl Days! It was a long long time ago but I remember enjoying it. I almost included another Jill McCorkle book on my list but didn’t – Carolina Moon. It’s great and only has 462 ratings. Seems she’s underappreciated. I enjoyed your list! That Jane Austen book sounds fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not usually a big non-fiction fan, but every once in a while I like to pick up something new. Witchcraze and the Jane Austen book look like books I’d enjoy. I’ve read the Diana novel, and have to admit that I didn’t care for it at all, but it’s interesting to hear from someone who did!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am definitely interested in that Anne Boleyn book! It sounds like it is pretty in-depth and really explores her history and what we know (and what we don’t know) about her. I have to say, most of the books on your list sound really interesting, particularly American Ghost, Witchcraze, and Bitch in a Bonnet (and of course the Anne Boleyn one). Really great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

