The Friday 56, #5

It’s time for  Friday 56!  It’s a book meme hosted by Freda at Freda’s Voice. Be sure to visit her blog if you would like to participate! 

From Freda’s Voice The Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post in the Linky on Friday 56. Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple.

Here’s my contribution:

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel:Station Eleven

“The sun was setting, the citizens of St. Deborah by the Water gathering for the performance. Far fewer of them now than there had been, no more than thirty in two grim-faced rows on the grit of the former parking lot. A wolfish gray dog lay on its side at the end of the front row, its tongue lolling.”

I just finished this last night and I loved it. Do you think it’s a book you would read? Or have you read it? If so, what’d you think? Let me know in the comments!

17 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #5

  1. So glad to hear you loved it – I did too. It’s one of my favorites so far this year, and I already want to reread it because I’m sure I missed things. I had avoided reading it for a while because I’m not usually into dystopian lit. But this book is so much more. I’m glad a friend recommended to me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not your typical post apocalyptic novel (no zombies!) so you might find this one to be more accessible. I hope you give it a try, it’s just such a good story.

      Like

  2. I read this book and liked it; I enjoy post apocalyptic novels that have some hope to them. World War Z was good and a great one was a guy who survived and he had a small plane, I can’t recall the title.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

