What Are You Reading?

badgeIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are and about to be reading over the week.This meme is hosted by Kathryn at the Book Date.  I’ll list the books I’ve read over the past week, and my plans for the coming week.

Be sure to visit Book Date and see what other bloggers are reading!

It was a cool and rainy weekend here in the Rockies, which makes it perfect for reading! I finished two books this week and both count towards #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks and #SmashYourStacks reading challenges.

Beautiful Ruins

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walters is a really great book. In fact, I think it is one of my favorite reads so far this year. It is Old Hollywood gossip, New Hollywood desperate, pretty boys who have skated by on their good looks for years, and Italy all rolled up  together and tied with a bow. And all of it comes together in the end. It’s not perfect, but it’s damn close. I would be a great summer vacation read

 

American Ghost: A Family's Haunted Past in the Desert Southwest

American Ghost is one was not at all what I expected when I bought it for my Kindle a year or two ago. I love true haunting and ghost stories , and I used to watch those TV shows about it all the time. This book is based on a famous haunting in Santa Fe, NM. The twist? The author is a descendant of the ghost reputed to be haunting the mansion/hotel. It’s an intriguing premise. It’s a fascinating look at hauntings, Jews settling the West, and family history.

Reading this week.

This week, I’m planning to read at least three books.

Welcome to Temptation (Dempseys #1)

 

Welcome to Temptation. It’s one of my favorite romance novels of all time. I’m reading for my Skype bookclub.

 

Kindred (Bluestreak)

 

Kindred has been on my TBR pile for  a while. I love time traveling novels and this one comes highly recommended.

 

 

The Shadow of the Wind (The Cemetery of Forgotten Books,  #1)

 

Shadow of the Wind. I’m about a third of the way through this book, so I want to finish it this week. I like it, but other books came up that I wanted to read to and this one just drifted to the bottom of my currently reading stack.

 

What are your reading plans this week? Leave your comments and suggestions in the comments. Have a great reading week.

22 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. I’ve been hearing such good things about American Ghost (and the digital library has it! *cough*). I think I might take a 1-2 month hiatus from #readMyOwnDamnBooks and not worry about it too much. 😉 But Happy Reading and Stack Smashing to you this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Octavia Butler is my favorite sci-fi-writer, but I have not read this more historical novel by her – so excited to hear what you think about it! Also Shadow of the Wind is such a lovely book-lovers’ book (a bit corny at times and over-the-top but… I give it a pass, since it’s about books :)). Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooo, time travel! I did not realize that – ok it’s going on my list 🙂
        I thought her Parable of the Sower was beautiful – much more ‘real’ and less… flashy than most dystopic fiction, like I could actually see it happening in a potential near future.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. American Ghost sounds like a really interesting book. I also like watching all those tv shows about ghosts so I think I would enjoy it. I might have to check it out 🙂 I bought Kindred a couple of months ago at a thrift store, but I haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet. I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just this hour finished and reviewed “Something Wicked This Way Comes” by Ray Bradbury (1962) which my spouse called “an unimportant work by an important novelist”. I wanted to read it because it is featured in “The Bookseller” as is “Ship of Fools” by Katherine Porter. And then I have a few ebooks….about 65 in my TBR pile……

    Liked by 1 person

  5. To my utter shame, I have to confess at not having ready ANY Octavia Butler – and science fiction is my favourite genre… I look forward to hearing what you make of ‘Kindred’ and must track down her other writing, as well! Have a great reading week:)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I enjoyed Beautiful Ruins as well! I read it a few years ago now but still remember it as a special book. Kindred is excellent. Time travel novels are one of my favorite genres (along with WWII novels), and this one was deeply thought-provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kindred is just …wow. I stayed up reading it late into the night. I’m sorry that Octavia Butler didn’t receive more recognition before her death. I’ll put a few more of her books on the TBR.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, Kindred definitely kept me up reading. It’s profound and really challenges the reader to think and wrestle with painful questions.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

