Teaser Tuesday & #SmashYourStack

Teaser

It’s Teaser Tuesday! What is Teaser Tuesday you ask? Well, Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books And A Beat.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser 1:  “Then she smiled, and in that instant, if such a thing were possible, Pasquale fell in love, and he would remain in love for the rest of his life–not so much with the woman, whom he didn’t even know, but with the moment.”
― Jess Walter, Beautiful Ruins, page 8

Teaser 2: “Motherhood rarely allows for solitude, yet it begets its own kind of isolation: from one’s past, from one’s youth, from the women we once thought we were and would become.”
― Hannah Nordhaus, American Ghost: A Family’s Haunted Past in the Desert Southwest,

What do you think? Would you keep reading?  

What are you reading at the moment?  Is it anything you would recommend? Be sure to let me know in the comments.

It's HERE!  #SmashYourStack Update

It’s been fifteen days since I began the #SmashYourStacks challenge and I’m sad to say I’ve only read, as of today, three books. Sigh. I’m not sure I’ll reach my goal of eight of my own damn books by May 31st. But it is still more of my own books than I read in April. When I decided to write this update for today I went back and counted the number of my books I’ve read since January and I was surprised I’d only read nine. And in total I’ve read thirty-three books to date. So, this challenge is really helping me go back to my TBR pile and read what I own. In that sense reading the three books is an accomplishment.

Here is the list of three books I’ve read this month:

Astonish Me       Rooms       The Painted Girls

In progress:

Beautiful Ruins        American Ghost: A Family's Haunted Past in the Desert Southwest      S.

Are you “smashing your stack?” How many of your own books have you read so far this month?

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday & #SmashYourStack

  1. It’s great that you are making progress reading your own books, even if it’s not as much as you’d like. I need to work on that too.

    Beautiful Ruins is a book that has come highly recommended to me. I think I may have a copy, actually. I’m not familiar with the second book you quoted, but I can see the truth in that statement.

    Thank you for sharing and visiting my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great teasers, and a great challenge! I have my own version of this kind of challenge, one led by Kathryn, at Book Date, in which I read the books I buy. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Love the cat in your blog header!

    Like

  3. Both teasers were good. I prefer the first one a little to the second one. I’d definitely keep reading that one. Interesting that both of them focus on life changing things. Thanks for coming by!

    Like

  4. Hi Loreen,

    it was good to have you stop by Fiction Books this week. I enjoy meeting new people and always value and appreciate any thoughs or comments you may wish to share 🙂

    I liked both your teasers, but think I preferred the second one, although I am not sure that this would be a book I would enjoy.

    ‘Beautiful Ruins’ however, sounds very worthy of being added to my mountain of books to read.

    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Yvonne.

    Like

Leave a Reply

