Dewey’s Read-a-thon Wrap Up

Or What I Learned About Myself During the #readathon. 

The first thing I learned? That reading like this takes stamina. And the best way to prepare is get a goodnight sleep the night before it begins. Because, of course, I was like a kid on Christmas eve. I could not sleep! Due to that I had to take a short nap early on in order to keep going. I also ended up taking a short nap of 30 minutes during Hour 22 (3 to 4 am my time). Which is totally fine.

The second thing I learned? It takes me forever to visit social media and comment on said social media. Next time I will do that more sparingly and limit the amount of social media I visit. However, I will try to complete more of the mini-challenges and sprints. Completing the few I did do was fun. And the sprints? they helped me focus. Except for the last hour sprint. My eyeballs didn’t co-operate at all!

The third thing I learned? Read books that are shorter in length. All of the books I piled up to read were long novels around 400+ pages. So I did not finish but one novel over the course of the day. Shorter novellas would have given me a better sense of completion even though I count page numbers for this challenge not number of books.

And the answer to the big question: Will I participate in this challenge again? Hell yes! It was such a blast from beginning to end. The next Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon is scheduled for October 22nd. I hope to see you all there.

Here are my stats for Read-A-Thon:

I read about 20 hours. The other four were filled with social media, blogging, eating, and napping.

I read two books: Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters 344 pages. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho (I didn’t finish this one.) 292 pages. Both of these books also count towards the Book Riot Read Harder 2016 challenge, so I killed two birds with one stone.

I completed three mini-challenges and completed three one hour sprints on Goodreads. My favorite challenge was the #WeirdCoverHunt hosted by the blog Outlandish Lit. Go to Twitter and see some of the crazy covers people entered into the challenge. Here is mine:

Tell me that this isn’t a slice of crazy.

Now I’m off to compete the official survey and visit the blogs of some of the fabulous readers I met during the athon.

What do you think? Would you participate in a read-a-thon?

 

12 thoughts on “Dewey’s Read-a-thon Wrap Up

  1. I agree about sleeping, I should have done that better! And I made the mistake of reading a sci Fi, which wasn’t particularly long, but takes more concentration so longer to get through. I agree, I’ll definitely be reading shorter books next time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you about picking less involved novels. Next time I’m not picking such long and complicated novels. When we get closer to October we’ll have to exchange our TBR piles to get ideas.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I will definite participate in the next one! Also agree with all your insights here. This was my first Readathon, and now I’ll have a clearer plan for the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you on the stamina. I managed to stay up the whole time, and finish about 7 books ( I went the shorter book length route) and cheer people for a bit. Next time I think I will indulge in some short naps, because I’m still recovering from ‘thon. I’m glad you had a good time!

    Like

  4. First, that is a mighty handsome cat in your header.

    I had trouble sleeping the night before too–so funny to have all this adrenaline about reading! What are these “sprints” of which you speak? As a first-timer, I am still a bit confused about all the pieces and how they fit together.

    I really like how instead of just listing your stats, you reflect on your learning here.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you! Yes, that kitty is a sweetie.
    The sprints I did were on Goodreads. Basically,every 4 hours they sponsored a reading sprint of 60 minutes strange with no distractions or stopping. After it was over you went to goodreads and listed the number of pages you read during the sprint. I saw a few sprint challenges on Twitter. There are so many things going on all over the web. Which is one reason I think that this read-a-thon is popular.

    Like

Leave a Reply

